Related Stories

Overall, others give this:

125 Reviews Write a review
62 Reviewers (50.0%) would recommend this to a friend.
Overall Rating Breakdown:
5stars
4stars
3stars
2stars
1stars

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.

Most Helpful Reviews

Praise10 found this helpful
ericdroberts
Sep 2 , 2013
Great Machine so far!
I've had this tractor for a few months now and it has about 15 hours on it. I mow about 2 acres with varying terrain. Overall I am very impressed with this machine. I see many comments about how the hood is poorly designed and falls off, etc... This is the case with ALL LAWN TRACTORS. Before I purchased my tractor, I bought 2 small rubber hood latches (the kind for snowmobiles), and the moment I got my tractor I riveted them on the hood. It now latches closed and I have no issues with it at all. This should come with all tractors, but.... I see a lot of negative comments regarding the engine and other mechanical components. I believe that if you use a lawn tractor, you should have general engine and mechanical knowledge. If you don't, and you cannot recognize simple engine or mechanical issues and how to address them, then you will get frustrated with any complex machine - especially one like this that really has no mechanical regulations to ensure build quality is the best. It's a great machine, it does its job, I believe the engine is great and with proper maintenance this machine should last indefinitely. My prior tractor was an LT2000. It was too small for our new yard. I owned that for 7 years and had not ONE ISSUE with it. I think craftsman tractors are the best for your money and you don't pay for green paint... The competition boasts "american made" yet their engine and drivetrain are japanese. Don't believe everything you hear - just buy what you think is best. I felt this was best and would buy it again. Also, a lot of comments about the steering and wheels toeing out ? So far, I haven?t had an issue. I believe that if you abuse the machine, even unknowingly, you can bend the front axles. The steering allows for you to almost turn the wheels at 90 degrees. That said, if you have them turned at 90 degrees and floor it ? they can certainly bend especially if they get hung up. Use common sense, and caution. As I get ready for winter I purchased a snowthrower, chains, and a cab for my tractor. Will report back on how well all of it performs this winter.
Criticism19 found this helpful
bassin1
Oct 29 , 2012
real headache
This tractor is great WHEN it runs but-- I have 11 hours so far and these problems: A) The fuel gauge does not exist, as you cannot see how much fuel, even the technician said you cannot see--so you have to guess. B)The primary/reserve fuel valve is installed backwards--the tech says I have to live with it too as it cannot be changed. C) The tractor will cut the entire yard on some days, on other days it will quit 2-10 times and have to be restarted after switching the valve back and forth. D) Yesterday it stalled 5 times in 7 minutes and when I called the tech line, the tech asked if I had checked the gas cap- I guess the cap can be too tight and has to be adjusted to fit "just right". E) tractor was very hard to start several times and when the tech came to repair, he said the choke was not set properly. F) When the tractor was delivered, the drive belt on the mower deck was not attached. I have been buying from Sears for 30 years and this tractor is the biggest piece of junk..
 
Nov 7 , 2013
Overall
Basic tractor is OK, but design errors abound.

I purchased and received the GT6000 on 4-12-12, and I?m doing the review on 11-5-13 after living with it for over a year. Problems began with the way the two delivery men lowered the tractor from their delivery truck. They broke the bumper when they lowered it using their hydraulic lift. How? Instead of moving the tractor out onto the lift and turning it sideways so it fit perfectly in the confines of their lift, they just balanced it on the lift and left the nose sticking out into the truck. Naturally, when they lowered it, the nose was crushed against the truck body and was damaged. They didn?t even ?notice? it until I came out and showed them. Sears didn?t seem too interested in how it was damaged, but they did send a replacement. Nice. The hood had a long, deep scratch in it. Nuff said. I inspected and then used the GT-6000 tractor and found the following: I found the gauge (anti-scalp) wheels mounted at the EXTREME TOP of their adjustment range. Useless! They would never have engaged the ground at that height under ANY circumstances. I lowered all five to their extreme lowest positions, and at that height they give just adequate protection for the deck and to prevent scalping of the lawn. Providing dust covers for Zerk fittings in dirty locations is pretty much standard nowadays, but I had to buy Zerk fitting dust covers on my own. The pre-installed, yellow, oil drain valve is a joke. It?s difficult to see and impossible to get to because it?s buried under and behind the starter motor. Again, the design is stupid because of the restricted access. Just try to follow the instructions: ?Unlock the drain valve by pushing inward slightly and turn it CCW. To open, pull out on the drain valve.? What is even more pathetic is the closing instruction: ?push inwards and turn CW until the pin is in the locked position.? Let me guarantee you, unless you remove the starter motor you ain?t going to be able to see any ?pin? on this valve. Plus the included drawing on Page 23 shows no pin, and has an arrow in the drawing INDICATING THE WRONG DIRECTION! The Operating Instructions repeatedly say to ?thread? and ?unthread? the oil dipstick. My oil dipstick is not threaded; it got an O-ring and is a ?friction fit?. If that?s not bad enough, the Operating Instructions say to measure the oil level WITHOUT threading the measuring stick into the tube. So, does that apply to the stick on my tractor WITHOUT THREADS? Who knows! Worse yet, you must add fresh oil via the same narrow tube used for the dip stick. As you can imagine, plan on taking a half hour to slowly pour the clean oil into the engine via this method. I strongly suggest you MEASURE the exact amount of oil you drain from your engine, and then carefully MEASURE and add back AT LEAST that same amount of new oil. Triple check the oil level ? as best you can. What a system! I was sent the wrong Operator?s Manual; I got manual for Model 917.28861, and my tractor is 917.28812.


Helpful
(3)
Not Helpful
(3)
Flag this Review

blugrass

Hermitage, MO

Oct 13 , 2013
Overall
Slow to no reverse

Tractor performs well in forward mode but reverse is extremely sluggish. Will not reverse on uphill grade and practically have to stand on reverse pedal on level grade.


Helpful
(2)
Not Helpful
(4)
Flag this Review

North_texas

Red Oak, TX

Oct 13 , 2013
Overall
Good tractor--runs great and reliable for 2 years so far

Did a lot of shopping (Sears, **********, Snapper, etc.) for a reasonably priced mower that could handle 3 acres in North Texas. So far has been a great tractor, fast, good tight turn feature-very maneuverable, handles slopes well, and is easy to maintain (very easy to remove and replace cutting deck when installing mulching blades--someone put some thought into designing an easy deck removal -remount system). No problems and I recommend it.

I would recommend this product to a friend.

Helpful
(5)
Not Helpful
(0)
Flag this Review

Sidhefae

Floral City, FL

Sep 22 , 2013
Overall
Great ride

Mows fast, and you can actually enjoy mowing your land.

I would recommend this product to a friend.

The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product.
Helpful
(1)
Not Helpful
(0)
Flag this Review

RLMAN

Stafford, VA

Sep 15 , 2013
Overall
WORST PURCHASE I HAVE EVER MADE.

WEAK: BRAKES, POWER, AND ALL THE OTHER THINGS DISSATIFIED CUSTOMERS WROTE I AGREE WITH. OBVIOUSLY MADE IN CHINA WHERE THEY NEVER USE IT. I HAVE OWNED IT FOR TWO YEARS, SO THIS IS NOT AN OFF THE CUFF EVALUATION.


Helpful
(6)
Not Helpful
(6)
Flag this Review

mizzo

Fredonia, NY

Sep 15 , 2013
Overall
known steering flaw-frame bends

Bought this 2 years ago and have about 95 hours. All in all, a great running and great mowing tractor. However I noticed this summer that the front tires were toeing out. Still under factory warranty so I called for service. The tech knew exactly what the problem was over the phone and said it's been common with the turn-tight front ends. The part of the frame which connects the front axle bends and spreads out with use causing the axle to become loose and the wheels to go out of alignment. Since there is no adjustment, their 'fix' is to replace the whole tractor. Sounds great except they haven't changed the design on the new ones so I guess I can expect the same problem in another two years. 5 stars to Sears for honoring their warranty, but I can't say as much for the poor design.


Helpful
(9)
Not Helpful
(0)
Flag this Review

patriceky

Louisville, KY

Sep 9 , 2013
Overall
Has the potential to be a very good Garden Tractor once the bugs are worked

When picking up went through 3 batteries before one would turn over the engine. Understandable being in store that batteries would drain. After starting engine runs for about 10 to 15 minutes then dies and will not restart for about 15 to 20 minutes. runs about 5 minutes then dies and will not restart. Noticed when engine would not start fuel filter did not have fuel in it. Gas tank and reserve tanks' were full. 10 to 15 minutes later gas would be in fuel filter and engine would start. Gas tank elevation is at or below engine elevation. No fuel pump in system. Parts catalog show a solenoid valve in fuel line. My observations: a) fuel line could be clogged (unlikely fresh fuel and new tank), b) solenoid valve in fuel line could only be partially opening for a number of reasons. An additional comment. While the area I was cutting was flat, some of the area I mow is hilly which would place the gas tank below the engine. With no fuel pump this would create more problems. All my previous mowers placed the gas tank above the engine. Garden tractor had a lot of potential and features I was looking for but if the motor will not run it is of no value to me. I returned Garden tractor for reimbursement.


Helpful
(6)
Not Helpful
(0)
Flag this Review

ericdroberts

Lake Zurich, IL

Sep 2 , 2013
Overall
Great Machine so far!

I've had this tractor for a few months now and it has about 15 hours on it. I mow about 2 acres with varying terrain. Overall I am very impressed with this machine. I see many comments about how the hood is poorly designed and falls off, etc... This is the case with ALL LAWN TRACTORS. Before I purchased my tractor, I bought 2 small rubber hood latches (the kind for snowmobiles), and the moment I got my tractor I riveted them on the hood. It now latches closed and I have no issues with it at all. This should come with all tractors, but.... I see a lot of negative comments regarding the engine and other mechanical components. I believe that if you use a lawn tractor, you should have general engine and mechanical knowledge. If you don't, and you cannot recognize simple engine or mechanical issues and how to address them, then you will get frustrated with any complex machine - especially one like this that really has no mechanical regulations to ensure build quality is the best. It's a great machine, it does its job, I believe the engine is great and with proper maintenance this machine should last indefinitely. My prior tractor was an LT2000. It was too small for our new yard. I owned that for 7 years and had not ONE ISSUE with it. I think craftsman tractors are the best for your money and you don't pay for green paint... The competition boasts "american made" yet their engine and drivetrain are japanese. Don't believe everything you hear - just buy what you think is best. I felt this was best and would buy it again. Also, a lot of comments about the steering and wheels toeing out ? So far, I haven?t had an issue. I believe that if you abuse the machine, even unknowingly, you can bend the front axles. The steering allows for you to almost turn the wheels at 90 degrees. That said, if you have them turned at 90 degrees and floor it ? they can certainly bend especially if they get hung up. Use common sense, and caution. As I get ready for winter I purchased a snowthrower, chains, and a cab for my tractor. Will report back on how well all of it performs this winter.

I would recommend this product to a friend.

Helpful
(10)
Not Helpful
(0)
Flag this Review

stealthrw

Red Wing, MN

Aug 28 , 2013
Overall
nothing but frustration

I've now had this garden tractor just a bit over 2 years and have had the following issues pop up during the duration of regular 'easy' use (I have about an acre of flat yard that I mow twice/week): - mower does not start after refilling fuel tank; it needs to sit for 10 minutes or so before it will fire up. Sears service has tried twice to fix to no avail. - steering shaft broke last summer during the course of routine use - burns through tires: currently waiting for third set of front tires. The tractor's alignment is terrible (service has tried to fix it twice now, and is trying a third time now) and keeps wearing the tires out. - alignment issues: the tractor has had to been realigned several times now, however whenever it is 'fixed' by Sears service it goes back to steering poorly several uses later. - sheared front right rim off hub: this is my current frustration - going on nearly 2 months waiting for service to fix. Overall, this mower is great - when it's working.


Helpful
(12)
Not Helpful
(2)
Flag this Review

Sears-fan

Groveland, FL

Aug 17 , 2013
Overall
Good workhorse

Bought to maintain our 1+acres of yard and 4 acres of field about 8 months ago. It has worked well so far. It doesn't cut the Bahia grass so well, but that's the nature of Bahia, not the mower. It does cut the St. Augustine parts very easily and clean, and handles the rough stuff very easily. Early on, it did die on me one night when I had to use the headlights. Apparently they run the wiring for the headlight way too close to the exhaust, and it melted the wire insulation. Not a problem until I turned the headlights. Then it killed the whole mower. After I towed it up to where I had light, I saw what happened. Instead of calling for a warranty repair as I should have, I just repaired the wires and replaced the blown fuse. The steering wheel is out of alignment, but that doesn't hurt operation. This season, we use it weekly for the 1+acre yard and every other week for the 4 acre field. Oil and filters are easy to change. Blades are okay, but I find it easier to drop the mower deck to change blades... And about the blades- after wearing-down the initial heavy duty blade set, I replaced them with a standard set of Husqvarna blades. My yard & field ate the Husqvarna set in less than a month. My next set was and all future blades will be the Heavy duty Craftsman blades (sigma, I think). They cost much more, but last much, much longer, and are well worth the price. All-in-all, it's a pretty good mower for our use.

I would recommend this product to a friend.

Helpful
(5)
Not Helpful
(2)
Flag this Review

DonnaMeckfessel

Bella Vista, AR

Aug 11 , 2013
Overall
Frustrated with Sears and their products

Had this tractor one year. Love how it handles, but the drive belt came off the first time I used it. Just last week I had to replace the carburetor. Today the mowing deck broke loose at the welded joint. Unfortunately, maintenance and repair service is difficult in my area. Love Sears, but the product and maintenance agreement is inconvenient.


Helpful
(5)
Not Helpful
(5)
Flag this Review

BoDenni

Peyton, CO

Aug 4 , 2013
Overall
So far so good

All in all I am pleased with my purchase though I have only had it for two weeks. When the tractor was delivered the battery was dead. The delivery driver said I can jump start it, I did, but it won't hold a charge. Tech is coming out to replace the battery. Tractor was also missing a few parts, oil drain tube, hose attachment for the deck clean out, one key (should have 2) and the owner's manual (which I downloaded from the net), but with the great service that Sears provides, they are sending me replacement parts. Working with their service rep was pain free. Purchased the tractor to maintain a 2.5 acre property. Installed the mulching kit and it did a great job. I purchased this model because of all the attachments available including ground contact attachments like a front scoop, front dozer blade, rear blade, landscape rake and a box scraper/leveler. Did have an issue with the steering a couple of times. If you turn it too sharp the front wheel will dig in and turn 90 degrees. Others have complained about this and Sears should fix this issue. I just have to learn not to turn so sharp. Tractor runs smoothly and I like that it has a top speed 7.5 mph. The tractor comes with a 3 year warranty which is another plus. Cheers.

I would recommend this product to a friend.

Helpful
(3)
Not Helpful
(2)
Flag this Review

STURGISYANKEE

Associate

Sturgis, MS

Aug 2 , 2013
Overall
Going strong 2 years later

I purchased this tractor 2 years ago and mow about 2 acres ....this is my second Craftsman tractor with a Kohler engine....I still have the first which is about 12 years old and I use it now as my "mini bush hog" around the barn....I was very satisfied with the first tractor and the Kohler engine so I purchased this one...the only parts I have replaced on this unit are the blades which are wear items.... so far this tractor has performed well and I look forward to many years of service out of it.

I would recommend this product to a friend.

Helpful
(4)
Not Helpful
(3)
Flag this Review

4mysunshine

Hagerstown, MD

Jul 24 , 2013
Overall
Didn't run 15 minutes!

The sales team talked this tractor up big time. Said I would have no issues mowing 2.5 acres, which is mainly level. This garden tractor did not make it 15 minutes before it started cutting out and acting like it was stopping. Needed to back off pedal and let it start back up. This lasted every couple minutes! The tractor is also extremely slow. Don't know what the issue is with the front axle, but it will slide sideways instead of turning sometimes. I can see this being a hassle in the future with tires. Repair scheduled with 4 hrs on it and not one completed lawn. Husqvarna was supposed to be better than the MTD. I would not say so at this point. Very disappointed in this purchase.


Helpful
(6)
Not Helpful
(0)
Flag this Review

scoot72

Dudley, NC

Jul 18 , 2013
Overall
Not recommended

We bought this in late May 2013 and in less than 20 hours the right front tire fell off. We had hoped Sears fixed this problem since we had bought another Craftsman about 6 years ago and the same thing happened. Words cannot describe how frustrating it is for this to happen again. Just last week it almost didn't start and when it did it was blowing black smoke. At least our old Craftsman is still running even though we had to weld the clip that holds the tire on.


Helpful
(4)
Not Helpful
(0)
Flag this Review

timgradywy

Kennett Square, PA

Jul 15 , 2013
Overall
Horrible quality

I'm two years in. Multiple parts have fallen off and broken. The latest problem is that the steering doesn't work. It's been iffy for quite a while, but it just completely broke yesterday. Of course my warranty expired a week ago... I cannot recommend this tractor to anyone. I think most of the issues are because the frame is way too thin leading every part to flex and wear prematurely. This may not be an issue on a perfectly smooth yard, but if you have any hills at all, it has the rigidity of a wet paper towel...


Helpful
(5)
Not Helpful
(1)
Flag this Review

LBinMN

Lakeville, MN

Jul 14 , 2013
Overall
Craftsman Tractor Disaster

This is a really big rip off from Sears and I am extremely disappointed in their inability to correct their problem with this tractor. I can't believe this tractor has a recommended seal on it. This is the biggest mistake we have made on lawn equipment. We have 5 acres and a long driveway. We purchased this to allow me to help with the plowing and for the tighter turn around trees. I am small and when I lean forward to try to control the plow it shuts off the machine because I can't reach that far. But worse this tractor is a disaster. We paid over $3000 for this (words I want to use cannot be printed here) and it's still on warranty. The 2nd time we used it this year the front wheel fell off. The rim completely broke away from the center. I have been dealing with Sears customer service and tech support for almost 3 months. The first parts we received to repair it was a clip for the wheel. I actually physically took the rim and wheel into the Sears parts department at the Burnsville store and they called and ordered the correct parts. However we then received another completely unrelated part. I think we have been sent every part on the tractor except the rim that we need. Sears continues to tell us the parts are on back order and they are trying to find a vendor. Meanwhile we have a $3000 tractor and nothing to mow our lawn with.


Helpful
(7)
Not Helpful
(3)
Flag this Review
Jul 13 , 2013
Overall
Great little Machine!

We recently purchased a small farm and the 1.5 acre horse pasture hadn't been mowed in weeks. The grass was almost 24" tall. I was very concerned that this mower wouldn't touch it and that I would have to rend a bush hog. I set the blade at the highest setting and drove right in. The cut was rough, but it exceeded my expectations 100%. I will have to go back and re-cut, but I was impressed with the torque produced by this 26HP Kohler. The ride is okay, but the larger rear wheels make it adequate. I believe that after 1 or 2 more cuts the horse pasture will be a breeze for this machine. The 2 acres we have in the front yard has been taken care of and mowing it was simple and fast. Great Machine!!! I would recommend this to everyone.


Helpful
(2)
Not Helpful
(1)
Flag this Review

GrassKeeper

Erwin, TN

Jul 7 , 2013
Overall
Yard Work Fast

This is the third year with the Craftsman GT6000. I mow about one and a half acres every week. This tractor has served me well. There has been only on flaw with this machine. I am six foot one inch tall. The ignition key was placed so that my knee kept turning the mower off. This caused the main mower belt to break. $50. Had to grind the key down and coated it with JB Weld. The mower has been a dream to use ever since this one adjustment.

I would recommend this product to a friend.

Helpful
(5)
Not Helpful
(2)
Flag this Review

TractorNOTreally

Ruidoso, NM

Jul 1 , 2013
Overall
will not climb hills

I have 7 acres of moderately hilly property. I have worn out 2 Sears tractors and bought this new more powerful one as a replacement. It will not climb a hill, even on a slight incline the tractor wheel not touching the ground spins freely while the rest do nothing. It is designed to operate in this way. The tech sent to repair the problem gave me extensive driving instructions but was unable to move up a small hill without becoming stuck as I did. His remedy was to get off the tractor then LIFT it to the side to get better traction. Returning the product has not been timely or easy. I regret buying this tractor. As the repair tech explained, it is NOT really a tractor but a lawn mower designed for a FLAT lawn.


Helpful
(5)
Not Helpful
(1)
Flag this Review

rlm1950

Findlay, OH

Jul 1 , 2013
Overall
so so tractor

first mower delivered with bent axle. second mower delivered broke 15 min after starting to use it. 3 mower delivered so far has been running ok todate.


Helpful
(4)
Not Helpful
(1)
Flag this Review

Ohle

Elizabeth, IN

Jun 30 , 2013
Overall
Waste of money

I have had this mower for a little over the length of the warranty. The left front rim broke (center broke lose from rim) after about 2 months of use and it was a fight to get it repaired. All I kept getting was a "did you hit something" question. The problem is with the 18 inch turn mechanism, that the front wheels catch the ground and lock turned sideways until you reverse out of it. Took six weeks to get it fixed where I had to find another mower to cut with. Near the end of the mowing season the right front rim broke in the exact same way. I called again and had the same problem with the "did you hit something" question. I explained exactly what the problem was and what I needed. They sent a technician out who was not prepared to make the fix. The technician said the front steering components were bent and needed replacement (under warranty). It took six months to get it fixed (good thing I didn't need it to plow my driveway over the winter). Now reverse is not working.


Helpful
(6)
Not Helpful
(1)
Flag this Review

ETB

Huntingtown, MD

Jun 26 , 2013
Overall
OMG!

I bought one in 2011 and had no problems for the first year. The second year was a disaster. The tractor seemed to be down to half power. The tech said my transmission probably was bad so he ordered a new one ($920) and installed it. No difference. He ordered another one and while he was installing it noticed that a bolt had fallen out of the frame and the frame was flexing everytime I pushed in the pedal. Problem was fixed. several months later I noticed that the front wheels were towed out, a lot, and the thing was difficult to steer. A tech came out and found out that the frame was bent and some of the steering parts had bent. He called it in and Sears said that they would replace the tractor. Great customer service. I now have a 2013 machine and it runs great. Will the frame bend again? Will the front end fail again? I don't see any changes in the tractor so I am very apprehensive. At least I have an extended warranty.


Helpful
(4)
Not Helpful
(4)
Flag this Review
Jun 20 , 2013
Overall
avoid at all costs

After 105 hours they are replacing the tractor, front axles are bent, both front tires have fallen off, idler pulley shot all the bearings and fell off, belt is frayed, engine smokes and has lost considerable power. We got 1 good year and after that it's been nothing but a piece of ****. First tractor lasted 9 years of hard service and still runs, this thing is just poorly made and I'm afraid they will be replacing this one, even before it arrives. I'll give them credit for standing behind the product, but the product is poor, and if you do have an issue, good luck getting parts! Buy something else.


Helpful
(7)
Not Helpful
(3)
Flag this Review

jlog

Detroit, TX

Jun 19 , 2013
Overall
Good Motor, the rest not so good.

Good strong kohler motor. Sorry steering setup. After a couple of uses the front tires started getting out of alignment and it seems like it just keeps getting worse. Tech says there is nothing he can do to realign. Both front wheels have now busted and have had to be replaced due I believe due to the alignment and the tight turn feature. The wheels turn so tight that they lock up and cause all the weight of the tractor to shift to the wheels causing them the seperate at the wheel bearing shaft. The Service Protection Plan ($500 extra) is a good plan if you can wait a month for the repairs to be made in the event of a breakdown. The grass won't wait that long around here so I may have to go buy another lawn tractor to use while I wait on the service tech to fix my wheel again.


Helpful
(6)
Not Helpful
(1)
Flag this Review

 

close x