Sears Holdings Military Veteran Profile of the Month: Lucas Eby

Sears Holdings employs over 30,000 military veterans, with 1,500 still in the National Guard & Reserves. We have a policy that will even pay the difference between their military and civilian pay when they’re called into active duty, so they’re not penalized for serving our country. Over the last 17 months, we’ve hired more than 5,100 veterans. Meet one of the veterans we hired  last year…

Lucas Eby

Military Career: Security Forces Operations Officer (Captain in the U.S. Air Force ’05-’12)

Sears Career: District Technical Manager

What do you do at Sears Holdings? As a District Technical Manager, I am responsible for the leadership and efficient management of the in-home technical workforce to achieve business results and goals. I lead over 20 home and consumer appliance technicians conducting repairs for customers throughout central Kentucky. I provide them mentorship, guidance and team leadership to produce the most efficient business practices and employees.

When did you come to Sears Holdings? From the time the position was posted online to the time I was hired took only 2 weeks, and I started with
the company December 4, 2012.

What have you learned from the transition? Transitioning from a stable military career was difficult to say the least. I had prepared myself over a year in advance to ensure my move to civilian life would be seamless. I fine-tuned my resume, searched and applied for 50-plus jobs in the geographical area I was planning to relocate to, networked in person and online, attended job fairs and hiring conferences, studied books and flash cards on interviewing and job seeking, and met with the state VA employment offices.