Full refund never received, as promised

Hello. I have been a loyal Sears customer for over 20 years now. I have used Sears for past appliance repairs and purchases and have never been disappointed. And then this happened. Please follow the chain of emails below. I look forward to a response. Thank you!

From: Sears Home Services – Solutions
To: Christine
Sent: Thursday, September 26, 2013 2:22 PM
Subject: Re2:Re: Re1:Re: CASE [[]]: Sears Processing Notification-Research [[::-CustomerED.firstName-::]] [[::-CustomerED.lastName-::]] (KMM29414491V19728L0KM)


Thank you for your recent correspondence. We are always interested in
hearing from our Sears customers. We apologize for the inconvenience
you have experienced due your dissatisfaction with the service charges
and the results of your billing disputes.

We are unable to issue any more than the $65.00 refund that has already
been processed and will not be reviewing any future billing disputes for
this issue. We apologize that we are unable to fulfill your expectation
of a full refund or store credit.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We value you as a Sears
Holdings customer and hope you will continue to make Sears your choice
for quality and value.


Jeff K.
Sears Holding Corporation

Original Message Follows: ————————

Hi. Thanks for getting back to me. I hired Sears to come out and
diagnose an issue we were having with our dishwasher. The issue is that
it is leaking a large pool of water every time it is run. This is
exactly what I put into the original service order. I depended on Sears
to correctly diagnose this issue – this is what I hired Sears to do.

Upon the first visit, the technician said he found the issue and it was
that I need a new gasket at a cost of $212.38. I specifically asked if
it was more cost effective to get a brand new dishwasher instead. He
said the rest of the dishwasher was in great working condition and that
the gasket would fix the leak. Since the technician is supposed to be
the expert, I took his advice.

Two weeks later, he returned to “fix the leak”. He left and 30 minutes
later, we called him back because the SAME exact leak was occurring.
The gasket clearly did NOT fix the issue – it didn’t even MINIMIZE the
leak – it did absolutely nothing to fix the leak. Upon his return, he
came up with a new diagnosis that we need an entire new dishwasher
door!! Well, why didn’t he tell me that the first time he came when he
was supposed to diagnose the issue?? He didn’t have an answer for that.

You cannot charge me for a “repair” that wasn’t a repair! Whatever he
“repaired” didn’t “repair” anything, since the same size leak is still

When the technician originally came out, he noted nothing of mice. It
wasn’t until the 2nd time he came (when he realized he screwed up the
first time!) that he accused us of having mice. I take offense and do
not agree at all with the mice comment. Not only is the townhome kept
clean and neat, but we have TWO cats living there who would have surely
discovered any mice living in the kitchen. There are no traces of mice
anywhere. Your technician is definitely mistaken.

Needless to say, I contacted Customer Service immediately. I was
promised a full refund. Multiple billing disputes were issued, I spoke
with managers who also agreed that a full refund would be issued. Every
time I spoke with customer service, they said the credit was coming and
that I would be contacted by the Billing Department. Not ONCE was I
contacted. I had to make every phone call.

I am extremely disappointed with the customer service I have received
throughout this entire process – from the technician, the over 15 calls
to customer service (where I was put on hold numerous times and
disconnected repeatedly due to your technical issues), the lack of being
able to actually speak with someone in the billing department to discuss
the billing disputes, the lack of receiving a phone call or a timely
email for every billing dispute (there were 5 issued by customer
service!) even though that is your policy to actually respond to the
customer. Very disappointing and frustrating experience with Sears.

At the very least, I would expect Sears to issue me store credit for
this huge debacle. If you can’t refund the full amount, a credit would
at least help me offset the cost of a new dishwasher, which is what the
technician should have originally recommended, instead of screwing me
out of repair costs that didn’t fix the problem. It’s clear to me now
that this technician wanted me to spend more money on his contracting
company doing the “repairs” instead of me spending the money at the
Sears store. What a sham.

Please rectify this terrible issue I have had with Sears and help
restore some of the credibility that was lost. I hired Sears because
it’s a well-known, trusted name brand that I have used before, shopped
at frequently, and have recommended to friends and family, as well as
through home improvement blogs that I write. I am looking forward to a
satisfactory resolution.
I look forward to hearing back from you as soon as possible.
Thank you, Christine

From: Sears Home Services – Solutions
To: Christine
Sent: Monday, September 23, 2013 10:26 AM
Subject: Re1:Re: CASE [[]]: Sears Processing
Notification-Research [[::-CustomerED.firstName-::]]
[[::-CustomerED.lastName-::]] (KMM29369044V46357L0KM)

Dear Christine,

Thank you for contacting Sears Holdings, and allowing us the opportunity

to address your concern regarding your recent experience. We apologize

that you had a very unsatisfactory experience with our customer
Unfortunately, charges are correct and we do not provide free services.
On the second service order our technician found live mice.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us
regarding our staff and service. By sharing your feedback, you have
made it possible for us to recognize what we are doing correctly and
improve our processes where improvement is needed.

Thank you for choosing Sears Holdings. We appreciate your business and
value you as a customer.


Michael F.
Sears Holdings Corporation

Original Message Follows: ————————

Hello. Could a manager please give me a call at their earliest
convenience? My # is (removed). I have filed 4 billing disputes and

only $65 has been refunded, when I was told at the very first call that

the entire $212.38 would be refunded. Please call ASAP. This has been

an outstanding case for a month now, which is entirely too long. I
appreciate your time and look forward to hearing from you. Thank you. -

Christine (owner of townhome)

From: Sears Customer Solutions
Sent: Saturday, September 14, 2013 1:18 PM
Subject: CASE [[]]: Sears Processing
Notification-Research [[::-CustomerED.firstName-::]]

Dear Customer,
Thank you for contacting Sears Holdings Corporation. We thank you for
allowing us the opportunity to assist you with your recent experience.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us by
replying to this email or via phone.
Please see below for the results of our research.
Record Number: 1670105
Phone Number: 2026528356
Research Request: Billing dispute
Research Results: Charges are correct and no refund is due

Thank you,
Customer Solutions Department
Phone: 1-800-479-6351
Hours of Operation: Mon-Sat 7 AM – 9 PM CST & Sun 10 AM – 6 PM CST


4 answers

  1. HadBeenLoyal,
    We apologize for the trouble you’ve experienced with your dishwasher repair. My name is David with our Sears Cares Escalation team. We will be happy to forward your information to our case management staff to have a case manager discuss this situation with you and see what options are available. If you have a preferred contact number that differs to what is on file with us, please contact my office via email at In the email, please provide the screen name (HadBeenLoyal) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue. We do look forward to speaking with you soon.

    Thank you,
    David W.
    MySears Community Moderator

  2. Hi there, HadBeenLoyal! Thanks so much for posting your experience on the MySears Community today. I am so sorry that it has been such a hassle getting your dishwasher repaired properly. The SearsCares team can help get this resolved for you to your satisfaction.

    A team member will respond here in a bit. Once they do, I will be sure to send you an email letting you know so we can get this escalated as soon as possible.


    1. In response to SHC-JulieK

      Hello. I just got off the phone with Debra R and wanted to express my thanks to her for a satisfactory resolution to this case. I appreciate her customer service and look forward to working with Sears in the future. Thank you.

    2. In response to SHC-JulieK

      This is really wonderful to hear! I am glad that Debra was able to help. Thanks so much for posting this update for us!

See More